VTA Announces New Board Members

Release Date: 
September 13, 2011 (All day)

Contact: Deb Shannon (802) 828-3224
Director of Broadband Outreach and Coordination
Vermont Telecommunications Authority
Montpelier, Vermont - The Vermont Telecommunications Authority recently welcomed new Board members, Pam Mackenzie, Chairwoman, and Representative Sam Young of Glover. Ms. Mackenzie, a former Comcast executive and active Board member with Chittenden County United Way and Vice Chair of the Vermont Public Television Board of Directors was appointed by Governor Shumlin.  

Prior to joining Comcast in 2006, Mackenzie held various positions within the cable industry, including serving as Area Vice President of Adelphia Communications of Northern Ohio, Area Vice President for Adelphia in Western Pennsylvania. Mackenzie has also served as Regional Manager and General Manager for several systems in Arizona and California.
Before entering the cable industry, Mackenzie held several posts at the White House during the Carter Administration, including Director of Logistics, Management Analyst and Assistant Director of Presidential Correspondence.
Throughout her career, Mackenzie has been consistently involved in the communities she manages and is involved in many industry and community organizations. She served on the executive committee for the national board of directors for Women in Cable & Telecommunications (WICT), serving as the Chapter Development Chair, and also served as a WICT New England Chapter Advisor. Mackenzie was one of three advisors across the country that was recognized by WICT as a Chapter Advisor of the Year in 2008. 

Sam Young is the owner of Think or Sink, a web development and Internet marketing company.He has developed the web sites for a number of Vermont businesses. Mr. Young’s appointments to the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development and the Joint Committee on Information Technology positioned him well to develop a firm grasp of the challenges to infrastructure development in rural Vermont. From those seats he was a proponent of Act 53, which changed some of the powers and duties of the VTA and ultimately lead to a $10 million 2 year capital budget allocation to the VTA.

Other Board members include Trevor Crist, of Inntopia, Karen Marshall, Chief of ConnectVT, and Deputy State Treasurer, Steve Wisloski. Peter Meyer, a former staff member of the Public Service Board and Vice Chairman has been on the VTA Board since its inception in 2007.